Things to do in the Himalayas


Who would want to go on safari when you could do this?

Generic White Water Rafting Image

Generic White Water Rafting Image

The two chaps I’m going to Nepal with are called Ben and Drew. After my occasional and subtle hints (“I want to go rafting!”), we’ve finally decided to scrap riding elephants in favour of riding crashing torrents of death-water. To somewhat counteract this astonishingly desperate grab for lashings of Hardcore Points, we’ve tagged some fishing on to the end of the trip. Although, if we’re lucky, we might catch something like this:

Man with Fish

Man with Fish

This is unlikely in my case, as I’m reliably informed that no Bentinck has ever caught a fish. My father hooked a pike once, even got it on the deck of the boat, but then it bit through the line and jumped back in: that’s the closest we’ve ever got to being a fishing family. Bring on the Himalayan River.

After this mini-adventure, I’ll be able to say that I learned to fish in the Himalayas; I’ll be able to say I learned to paddle furiously with no perceivable effect on the Himalayan River; I’ll even be able to say that three public school boys, when put in sodden peril, will genuinely scream in three-part harmony; but I won’t be able to say (I expect) that I caught a fish.

4 responses to “Things to do in the Himalayas

  1. Pingback: All Alone in a Foreign Land « On Questing for a Mojo

  2. Pingback: Rafting the River of Gold | On Questing for a Mojo

  3. Pingback: Rafting the River of Gold | Will Bentinck's Blog

  4. Pingback: » Rafting the River of Gold / On Questing for a Mojo

Leave a Reply

